sharpen my saw

A man was struggling in the woods to saw down a tree. An old farmer came by, watched for a while, then quietly said, “What are you doing?”   “Can’t you see?” the man impatiently replied, “I’m sawing down this tree.” “You look exhausted,” said the farmer. “How long have you been at it?” “Over five hours, and I’m beat,” replied the man. “This is hard work.” “That saw looks pretty dull,” said the farmer. “Why don’t you take a break for a few minutes and sharpen it? I’m sure it would go a lot faster.”

“I don’t have time to sharpen the saw,” the man says emphatically. “I’m too busy sawing!”

Continuing with maintenance theme but shift from blog to me.  An old favourite Stephen Covey’s The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. Leafing through this the seventh principle Sharpen the Saw fitted current mood. All too easy to be ‘too busy’ to take time to sharpen saw, yet were the saw sharpened it would make the task ahead easier and quicker. So today making time for reflection to make sure focusing efforts effectively ready for tomorrow while enjoying today.

Have a good day

386day

Leave a comment