embrace change

“If you’re like me, you won’t want to change. Even if things aren’t wonderful, but are familiar, I would rather stay with what I know. Why meddle with something for which there is a Latin, and therefore authoritative, term: the status quo. I studied dead languages at school – no chance of sudden changes in grammar or vocabulary there. So I’m aware status quo has roots in the longer phrase “in statu quo res erant ante bellum” – the state in which things were before the war. I feel the implication is that without the status quo there will be chaos. There will be war.”
BBC Magazine
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23986212

My daily thought for the day that popped up on screen entreated me to recognise change is not an action but a process. To hang on when it seems easier to stay put… Let’s not argue about the mixed metaphor. So I returned to a previous post on change to see if looking at it again renewed enthusiasm or invoked despair. Am I in a different place, does it matter, is happiness closer or an illusion, are these questions or random thoughts. Feel unsettled as will soon be end of a year of posts – journey end or new beginning. Time to choose. Time to embrace change.

Have a good day

337day

Leave a Reply

