be bemused

We are not bemused

When I was growing up in the Jurassic period, I was taught that “bemused” meant confused. And that’s how I still use it. But everyone else uses it to mean amused. This leaves me bemused. But maybe I’m just a dinosaur who should lighten up and be amused. The Grammarphobia blog

I started today with amused in mind but was curious and unsure where to go with it. Let internet wander decide destination and it took me to this
http://www.elearnenglishlanguage.com/blog/english-mistakes/amused-vs-bemused/

I was amused by such earnest debate as if it is a matter of life or death. That’s the internet for you. You of course may simply be bemused as to where this post is going. Today a lesson in the evolution of language, a reminder of my son teaching, a diversion for me to rest, tomorrow can return to life trek.

Have a good day

201day

Leave a Reply

