be perfect

“Good, better, best never let it rest, till your good is better and your better is your best.”

Drilled from childhood but on reflection not the words but what I heard that has brought me to this point. Unless I am perfect I have failed and failure means I have not tried my best. Does that sound reasonable? If not what I would tell others then why tell myself. Others would get praise and encouragement for effort not just criticism. Though on reflection can be pretty harsh on others too, less so as grow older and maybe wiser. Still harshest criticism reserved for me. So what to do. Today let ‘good enough’ rule. In that spirit let first google choice which hits spot do, no need to feel must continue search in case something better.
http://www.counselingcenter.illinois.edu/self-help-brochures/academic-difficulties/perfectionism/

Appreciate irony that on return months later the link to perfectionism is broken. Here the new link
http://counselingcenter.illinois.edu/brochures/perfectionism and here in case that disappears the home page
http://counselingcenter.illinois.edu/

Allow yourself to have a good day

149day

Leave a Reply

